AWS Redshift: How Amazon Changed The Game


Edit:  Thank you to  Curt Monash who points out that Netezza is available for as little as $20k/TB/year with hardware (and 2.25x compression) and that there is an inconsistency in my early price estimates and the fraction I quote in my conclusion. I’ve incorporated his observations into my corrections below. I’ve also changed a sentence in the conclusion to make the point that the $5k/TB/year TCO number is the effective TCO given that a Redshift cluster that can perform these queries at the desired speed has far more storage than is needed to just hold the tables for the workloads I tested.

Author’s Note: I’ll preface this post with a warning: some of the content will be inflammatory if you go into it with the mindset that I’m trying to sell you on an alternative to Hadoop. I’m not. I’m here to talk about how an MPP system blew us…

View original post 5,379 more words

